< < home
Photography by Danté Fenolio


Anotheca Images
Fieldwork has always been my greatest passion. Never one for suits, ties, or big cities, I find myself most comfortable, and happiest, far away from the grind of modern society. Most people will never experience the energy and feel of a primary rainforest on a misty night. I couldn't envision life without it. I have been fortunate in that I can combine my academic field work with another love, wildlife photography. As a photographer, I work to capture images of wildlife that isn't commonly observed. Often, I seek the smallest forms of life, things overlooked by the masses. Mainstream wildlife photography is obsessed with pandas, bald eagles, bears, and wolves. I'd rather shoot cave diplurans in the Ozarks, cryptic geckos in the forest canopies of Madagascar, or freshwater rays in south-central Brasil.

My aim has always been to bring the forest to those who can't see it in person. I have a fondness and immense appreciation for nature's detail. I often find myself engrossed by things like the subtle nuance of mimicry, highlights at the edge of a sleeping butterfly's wing, or the pearlescent skin of a blind cave salamander. I hope that you enjoy the images I have placed in the slide shows. If I've done my job, they might inspire you to visit one of the last great wild places before they are gone.


Bioluminescence Gallery

Gulf of Mexico Gallery

 


Chilean Fieldwork Blog Post

 


Ozark Caving
December 2014 Blog Post


If you are looking for a field photographer,
contact information, accomplishments, and references (below) are provided.




References
Reference #1
Dr. Nelson Da Silva Jr.
Catholic University of Goiás, Brasil
Njsj@ucg.br
Reference #2
Dr. Gary O. Graening
Subterranean Biodiversity Project / The Nature Conservancy
ggraening@gmail.com
Reference #3
Dr. Heather Bracken-Grissom
Florida International University hbracken@fiu.edu

Reference #4
Dr. Tracey Sutton
Nova Southeastern University
tsutton1@nova.edu

Reference #5
George Ledvina
Greentracks Inc.
Gledvina@frontier.net
Reference #6
Dr. Jon Moore
Florida Atlantic University
jmoore@fau.edu


© 2017, Danté Fenolio